ASUS Zenfone 2 Laser – Camera Review

I had received ASUS Zenfone 2 Laser (ZE500KL) phone from ASUS almost a month back and I have been using it for a camera review for almost two weeks now. Quite satisfied with the camera, I genuinely felt this phone camera needed a standalone review.

To start with the basic specs, this phone runs on Android 5.0 (Lollipop) platform with 13 MP, laser autofocus and dual-LED flash back camera and a 5 MP Autofocus front camera. The look and texture of the phone is quite elegant and I really like the glamorous red colour handset.

What is laser auto focus?

The rear camera comes with a laser auto-focus and Pixel Master technology which provides fastest possible clarity by reducing the blur and enhancing image stabilisation, as quoted by ASUS. The laser beam provided near the rear camera measures distances at lightning speed enabling near-instant focus as fast as 0.03 seconds, especially in dim light conditions. The laser auto-focus even accelerates close-ups photography, compensating for the extra distance created by the lens receding during framing (as mentioned by ASUS on their website – https://www.asus.com/Phone/ZenFone-2-Laser-ZE500KL/PixelMaster/ ).

After reading about the camera technology, I decided to do an outdoor shoot with the phone. The best option I thought was to go for landscape photography, as I am a travel enthusiasts and majority of my shots are either landscape or candid.

To my surprise, the phone camera captured minute details of the sunset and gave a very beautiful silhouette shot.

P_20151224_170712_1_p
Playing Hide and Seek
P_20151224_170239_1_p
A man observing the fishermen while they are busy doing their chores
P_20151224_171039_1_p
Fishermen heading towards the points where they have cast their nets for fishing
P_20151224_173057_SRES
How serene it finally becomes when the mighty sun clams down

Apart from the laser technology, ASUS has provided other features like Manual Camera mode (for a DSLR like picture quality) HDR, Depth of Field, Time Lapse, Super Resolution.

I am sharing a few shots using these features for your reference –

Super Resolution shots

P_20151231_154057_SRES
Super resolution image
P_20151231_154222_1_p
Image taken on Auto mode

 

Manual Shots

P_20151231_155140_1_p
Image capture by Manual settings – adjusting ISO, White Balance and exposure.
P_20151231_155203_1_p
Image shot on Auto mode

 

Super HDR mode

P_20151231_154612_1_HDR_p
Super HDR mode
P_20151231_154559_1_p
Auto mode

 

All in all I find the phone to be very sleek and elegant in design and I am quite satisfied with the camera clarity esp. from travel perspective. Also the battery life of the phone is also satisfactory. The display and sound quality of the phone is also quite remarkable, given that the handset falls into budget phone category.

Lastly, many times esp. during my morning treks, I find it tedious to carry my DSLR and sometime I have also opted not to carry it. With camera features provided by ASUS, I am sure I can now take fairly clear and creative pictures from phone as well.

Leave a Reply

