Faith in Mountains – A Photo Blog

After almost 3 days of continuous road travel our actual site seeing started on the fourth day, when we left for Nubra Valley from Leh. A day before I had started feeling the side effects of acclimatization. I had a severe headache and hence spent entire day sleeping in the car and on “Minute Maid”.

The Forth Day – Visit to Nubra from Leh

The morning was lazy. I was drained, completely out of energy as I had skipped my meals a day before. Last night I dint have the stamina to even complete my soup. I just fell on the bed and slept. All thanks to “acclimatization”.

“I had to do this” I thought. I had reached Leh and my journey had just begun. But thinking of Khardungla sent shivers down my body. Did I have the stamina to face this again? Another day of uneasiness and breathlessness, was I prepared for it? While these thoughts hovered in my mind, I got up and went for bath. Hot water gave me much needed strength and energy to overcome my fear. My mind was now firm that I will not give up.

The road trip began and while I sat at the back seat, my mind suddenly wandered into the past -the struggle – facing all the odds, the heart break, the failure, the scared and lost me. While I was in that zone, I felt few drops of tears rolling down my eyes. I looked outside – the high mountains, the meandering roads, the clear blue sky. I just looked out numb and thoughtless.

After an hour and a half, we reached Khardungla. While I got down, I was a little lost but the chilling weather bought me to senses with reality. I wore my jacket took my camera and came in terms with the present.

Khardungla had some charm. The flags, the huge signage, the herd of people around yet I was there all alone. I looked around observing the view and the madness of people and then I saw Faith.

I don’t know why that word came to my mind but all I can relate it with was – the motor bikers, the flags and indeed these words “Highest Motorable Road in the world”. Post that moment, in the entire journey,  I saw faith. The monasteries, the prayer wheels and the prayer flags were everywhere. Ladakh is full of faith. Moreover the people there, their culture depicted Faith. The bikers, the cyclist rode with pride on that dangerous route all because of Faith…faith in themselves and HIM may be.

A Gompa in Leh
A Gompa in Leh
The car drivers drive too and fro on this route...Their sleepless eyes depicts Faith
The car drivers drive too and fro on this route…Their sleepless eyes depicts Faith
The Monasteries - Epitome of Faith in Mountains (Thiksey Monastery)
The Monasteries – Epitome of Faith in Mountains (Thiksey Monastery)
Taglang La Pass - 17582 feet (5359 meters) above sea level, it is the world's second highest motorable pass
Taglang La Pass – 17582 feet (5359 meters) above sea level, it is the world’s second highest motorable pass
The Prayer Flags
The Prayer Flags
Buddha statue, Diksit Gompa
Buddha statue, Diksit Gompa
Buddha statue, Diksit Gompa
Buddha statue, Diksit Gompa
The Flag
The Flag
More Prayer Flags near Diksit Gompa
More Prayer Flags near Diksit Gompa
Prayer Flags on the way  from Leh to Nubra Valley
Prayer Flags on the way from Leh to Nubra Valley
Faith - Main Market at Leh
Faith – Main Market at Leh
Faith - Main Market at Leh
Faith – Main Market at Leh
Prayer Flags - At Pangong Lake
Prayer Flags – At Pangong Lake
Prayer Flags on the way
Prayer Flags on the way
5 thoughts on “Faith in Mountains – A Photo Blog

Leave a Reply

